Experienced Charlotte Uber or Lyft Accident Lawyers
Representing those injured in Lyft or Uber car accidents throughout North Carolina since 1992
Today, ridesharing apps like Uber and Lyft dominate the transportation industry. These ridesharing companies are not really taxi services. Rather, they are smartphone apps that connect people looking for rides with those who seek to make money by giving rides. Unlike taxi drivers who are often in marked cabs, Uber and Lyft drivers use their own personal vehicles and accept rides when and where they want. Like any other drivers, these rideshare drivers can get into serious accidents.
If you have been hurt in a car accident involving an Uber or Lyft vehicle, trust a legal team that is dedicated to helping injured people throughout Charlotte. The highly skilled and compassionate attorneys of Warren & Kallianos, PLLC, combine legal experience and know just how to handle car accident cases from start to finish.
What to Do When You Are Injured as a Passenger in an Uber or Lyft Crash
Just as you would if you were in an accident in your own vehicle, your first action should be to dial 911 immediately and get medical attention if you have been injured, or if anyone else involved in the crash has been injured. If you are physically able to do so, take pictures of the crash scene, the other vehicles, and people involved.
Take a screen shot of your ride and get your driver’s contact information, and that of other parties involved in the crash. If the crash occurred on a city street where there were witnesses, ask if they would be willing to report what they saw. Get their contact information as well. Memory can be unreliable, so it is important that you gather as much information as you can at the scene. If you end up filing a claim, this evidence will be useful to your Charlotte Uber and Lyft accident lawyer from Warren & Kallianos.
How Uber and Lyft Operate in North Carolina
Every state has needed to deal with how to regulate and permit Uber and Lyft and any other ridesharing services. In North Carolina, the legislature passed Senate Bill 541 back in 2015. It permits companies like Uber and Lyft to operate in the state. Here are some key points to know about the regulations:
- The companies are regulated. They must have a registered agent and pay $5,000 annually for a permit to operate. This is not a requirement for the drivers. It is something the companies must do to maintain compliance.
- Drivers must have mandatory liability auto insurance. In North Carolina, all vehicle owners operating on the road must carry a minimum of $30,000 per person and $60,000 per accident in bodily injury coverage.
- Companies must cover service-related injuries. Any transportation network company must carry at least $1.5 million in liability coverage that covers any injuries a driver causes while “on the clock.”
- Companies must allow annual inspections. All rideshare vehicles must meet minimum safety standards.
- Drivers must undergo background checks. No one may act as a rideshare driver in North Carolina unless he or she passes a background check. The check screens drivers to determine if they have a valid driver’s license and liability insurance. Additionally, drivers cannot have three or more moving violations or one major violation in the past three years, and they cannot have any conviction within the past seven years for:
- Driving while impaired
- Sex crimes
- Use of a motor vehicle to commit a felony
- Crimes involving property damage, theft, acts of violence, or acts of terror.
These regulations are designed to protect the public against a host of potential harms. Still, the fact remains that negligent rideshare drivers can still cause crashes, and passengers can be injured in Uber and Lyft vehicles by other negligent parties.
How Uber and Lyft Insurance Coverage Works
One of the key questions in a ridesharing accident is which insurance policy will be on the hook for covering losses and injuries. This is where an experienced auto accident lawyer in Charlotte can help you to seek compensation for your injuries. Let’s look at different scenarios that can arise:
- Rideshare driver is on his or her own time. Since rideshare drivers’ vehicles serve a dual purpose, it is important to understand what the car was being used for at the time of the crash. If the driver was not logged into the app, then he or she was using the vehicle for personal purposes. The driver’s individual auto insurance will be responsible for covering the driver’s negligence.
- Rideshare driver is logged in but waiting for a ride. The general rule is that the rideshare company will cover the driver’s liability up to $50,000 per person and $1,000,000 per event. But you should also note that this is considered excess coverage. In other words, if the rideshare driver maintains less than this amount, Uber or Lyft coverage will pay the difference “when necessary” to cover up to the $50,000/$1,000,000 limit.
- Rideshare driver is picking up a passenger or transporting a passenger. When the driver is on the clock and picking up or transporting passengers, rideshare insurance kicks in to cover injuries caused by the driver’s negligence. North Carolina requires a higher limit than many states. In North Carolina, the limit is up to $1.5 million total per incident.
- Another driver’s negligence causes the crash. If you are hurt in an Uber or Lyft vehicle while a passenger due to another driver’s negligence, then you would turn to that driver’s liability coverage or, perhaps, your own uninsured motorist/underinsured motorist (UM/UIM) coverage.
Pursuing Compensation After a Ridesharing Accident
Rideshare drivers put in a lot of time behind the wheel. Serious crashes happen. Common injuries can include:
- Broken bones
- Back and neck injuries
- Herniated discs
- Traumatic brain injuries (TBI).
When you suffer a serious injury, it is important to work with an attorney who understands where to look for all potential compensation. Here are a few examples of things you may be entitled to claim after an accident in North Carolina:
- Past medical bills
- Anticipated future medical expenses
- Lost income
- Diminished earning capacity
- Pain and suffering
- Emotional distress.
Our Charlotte Uber or Lyft Accident Attorneys Can Help You
At Warren & Kallianos, PLLC, we work to recover compensation for your injuries. When you call us for help after getting hurt in a ridesharing accident, here’s how we will act to protect your interests:
- We will investigate your crash. We immediately start to gather crucial evidence to support your case, including accident scene photos, witness statements, and data that reveals whether the driver was logged in at the time of the crash.
- We will calculate your damages. Next, we will work closely with you and your healthcare providers to make sure we understand the scope and extent of your injuries. Often this even means hiring highly-skilled experts to help us to prove your case and the amount you are due for your injuries.
- We will fight for all compensation you are due. We will handle negotiating with the insurance companies to pursue maximum compensation for your injuries. We may even take your case to court. If so, you should know that our team of experienced litigation attorneys will fight with great skill and attention to detail to protect your interests.
Work with a Trusted Charlotte Uber or Lyft Accident Attorney
If you have been injured in an Uber or Lyft accident in the Charlotte area, call us today. Our Charlotte Uber and Lyft accident attorneys have experience fighting for injury victims just like you. We never charge for a consultation, and we only get paid if you do. So, you have nothing to lose and everything to gain by calling 704-377-7777 or contacting us today.